A unique collaboration – Maggie Fergusson


‘When Michael Morpurgo first suggested I should write a book about his life, I was excited but uncertain. If I wrote a conventional biography, what would be in it for all the young people who love his work so much? So we struck a deal. I’d write seven chapters about Michael’s life; he’d write seven stories in response. The result, we hope, is like one of those family board games – “to be enjoyed by children aged 9-99”. What you’ll find, both in my chapters and in Michael’s responses to them, is a story of light and shade, the light very bright, the shade sometimes painful. As Michael’s godmother said when I went to visit her, he’s had “a muddled life, but a marvellous one”. I hope you’ll find the great storyteller’s private story both moving and inspiring, and that you’ll email any questions that occur to you while you’re reading.’

Maggie Fergusson is Director of the Royal Society of Literature and Literary Editor of Intelligent Life. Her first book, George Mackay Brown: The Life, won the Saltire First Book Prize, the Scottish Arts Council First Book Award, the Marsh Biography Award and the Yorkshire Post Book of the Year Award.

Other Articles

Morpurgo’s 80th sees celebratory year of publishing

HarperCollins Children’s Books (HCCB) and Farshore have unveiled a year-long celebratory publishing plan marking the 80th birthday of author Michael Morpurgo with almost 50 titles scheduled and new author branding designed by his granddaughter Alice, illustrations by Dapo Adeola and an introduction from Benedict Cumberbatch. To celebrate the landmark… Read More

Announcing Tales from Shakespeare by Michael Morpurgo

We are delighted to announce Tales from Shakespeare by Sir Michael Morpurgo.This collection features retellings of ten Shakespeare plays, each illustrated by a different artist. It publishes on the 28th September and you can preorder it now from Waterstones. Featuring:Macbeth, illustrated by Dapo AdeolaThe… Read More

Join Michael Morpurgo’s live-streamed event!

Join best-selling author MICHAEL MORPURGO ‘LIVE’ from Portsmouth Central Library on Monday 23rd May from 10.45-11.45am as he reads and talks about There Once is a Queen, his special book for The Queen’s Platinum Jubilee. Click here to join the live stream: https://bit.ly/TOIAQLive There Once is a Queen… Read More