Flamingo Boy

A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION

This is a landmark new novel from the nation’s favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents’ farm among the salt flats, and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn’t understand: but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine, and music too: and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel.

But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart.

Only there’s a kind sergeant among the Germans – a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken – and maybe even the whole town…

VIDEOS

Introduction to Flamingo Boy

Watch the trailer

TEACHING RESOURCES

Cover Sheet

Writing Challenge

Classroom Presentation

Related Articles

CLOSED: First News Competition: Win Books for Your School and Tickets to See Michael Morpurgo Live

This competition is now CLOSED! Win a family ticket to see Michael Morpurgo LIVE this summer, plus a full set of Michael Morpurgo books for your school! There are so many great Michael Morpurgo books to enjoy, but this month we’ve highlighted sixteen of his must-reads! The books are grouped… Read More

CLOSED. Competition: Michael Morpurgo Month 2019 Reading Challenge

This competition has now closed and the winner has been contacted. Take part in the Michael Morpurgo Reading Challenge! We invite teachers, librarians and home educators to submit the words your students have learnt throughout Michael Morpurgo Month 2019. At the end of the month, we will compile all of… Read More

Michael Morpurgo Month 2019

Share the stories. Share the adventure. Michael Morpurgo is one of Britain’s best-loved story makers, and Michael Morpurgo Month is a great opportunity to introduce children to wonderful stories they haven’t yet read, and to get them talking about these brilliant adventures. As Michael himself says, reading for pleasure is… Read More

Michael at the Festival of Ideas

On Sunday 16th September, Michael joined Guardian journalist Claire Armitstead at the Festival of Ideas in London. This was the first year of the festival launched by the Royal Academy of Art bringing together artists and writers to discuss creativity. Michael was in conversation discussing his latest two books Flamingo… Read More

Michael Morpurgo | Watch the Flamingo Boy Trailer

From master storyteller and award-winning author of War Horse, Michael Morpurgo, comes a heart-lifting story of hope and courage in a time of war. Flamingo Boy is out now hardback, e-book and audiobook formats.  Watch the official trailer below. For more information about Flamingo Boy visit the book page. Read More

Michael Morpurgo reveals his landmark new novel, Flamingo Boy

We are delighted to announce that Michael Morpurgo’s stunning new novel, Flamingo Boy, will publish on 8th March 2018. Flamingo Boy is the story of an extraordinary boy – a boy who sees the world differently. In the unique landscape of the Camargue during WWII, Lorenzo lives among the salt… Read More